Leading the Way

The Community Foundation for Prince George’s County Celebrates Local Leaders in the 2012 Civic Leadership Awards April 12

By Annamarya Scaccia

harrisonIn order to build a strong community, you need leaders dedicated to improving its strength, growth and output. You need leaders who are steadfast in their commitment to the public—who, through thick and thin, will ensure their community is operating at its fullest potential. Fortunate for Prince George’s County, we have leaders who do just that.

For the last seven years, the Community Foundation for Prince George’s County has recognized those trailblazers who are the personifications of community leadership. And on Thursday, April 12, the foundation, which was established in 1994 to advocate and support the county’s non-profits, will recognize local groundbreakers in its 2012 Civic Leadership Awards for their commitment, vision, leadership, and overall work in the county. It starts at 6 p.m. and will be held at the University of Maryland’s Samuel Riggs IV Alumni Center, 7965 Baltimore Avenue in College Park.

The foundation’s seventh annual event, themed “Community Leaders: Building a Great Community through Commitment, Vision & Leadership,” will honor 10 community innovators with its Civic Leadership and Bridge Builder awards. The non-profit developed the Civic Leadership awards to name, honor, and support those distinguished public service leaders whose exceptional work promotes the positive development of the community, while its Bridge Builder awards recognize non-profit groups chosen by the honorees that contribute to the civic, educational, economic, and communal development of Prince George’s County.

ramirezCivic Leadership award recipients include Prince George’s Circuit Court Judge John Davey and Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission’s Public Affairs Officer, Andrea Davey; André Gingles, owner of the minority business enterprise, Gingles, LLC, and Colette Gingles, Human Services Coalition of Prince George’s County board member; the Pohanka Group’s President and CEO, Geoff Pohanka; Prince George’s County Council Chair, Andrea Harrison (featured top right); and Maryland State Senator Victor Ramirez (D) (featured bottom left). 2012 Bridge Builder awardees include Maryland Community Connection’s Co-founder and Executive Director, Andre Coates; Housing Initiative Partnership and HIP Services Inc.’s Executive Director, Mosi Harrington; and the Deamonte Driver Dental Project, a grassroots community initiative started by the Robert T. Freeman Dental Society to combat health disparities in underserved populations. To learn more about the recipients, click here.

The 2012 Civic Leadership Awards will start Thursday night with a VIP reception at 6 p.m., with the award ceremony commencing at 6:30 p.m. Those interested in attending must RSVP by Tuesday, April 10. To RSVP, click here.

2012 Civic Leadership Awards

Thursday, April 12

6 p.m. – 9 p.m.

Samuel Riggs IV Alumni Center

University of Maryland, College Park

7965 Baltimore Avenue

College Park, MD 20742-1521 

Photos: Maryland State Archives


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s